Visual Timeline: Assyria

To navigate the timeline, click and drag it with your mouse, or click on the timeline overview on the bottom.

1900 BCE 1800 BCE 1700 BCE 1600 BCE 1500 BCE 1400 BCE 1300 BCE 1200 BCE 1100 BCE 1000 BCE 900 BCE 800 BCE 700 BCE 600 BCE 500 BCE 400 BCE 300 BCE 200 BCE 100 BCE 0 CE 100 CE 200 CE 300 CE 400 CE 500 CE 600 CE  
1900 BCE: Ashur, capial of Assyria, is founded.
1813 BCE - 1791 BCE: Reign of Shamashi Adad I who drives out Amorites, secures border of Assyria, makes Ashur capital.
1680 BCE: Hurrians occupy Assyria.
1472 BCE: Mittani annexes Assyria.
1400 BCE: Assyria regains its independence.
1307 BCE - 1275 BCE: Reign of Assyrian King Adad-Nirari I, Mitanni becomes vassal state.
1250 BCE: Shalmaneser I of Assyria conquers the kingdom of Mitanni and defeats its allies.
1245 BCE: Battle of Nihriya: Tukulti-Ninurta I of Assyria defeats Tudahalija IV of the Hittites.
1244 BCE - 1208 BCE: Reign of Tukulti-Ninurta I, Hittites conquered.
1225 BCE: Tukulti-Ninurta I sacks Babylon.
1220 BCE: Babylon is under Assyrian control.
1115 BCE - 1076 BCE: Reign of Tiglath-Pileser I of Assyria who conquers Phoenicia and revitalizes the empire.
912 BCE - 891 BCE: Reign of Adad Nirari II who revitalizes kingdom and secures borders.
900 BCE - 800 BCE: Surviving sphinxes from the Assyrian civilization, usually placed as guards outside palaces.
884 BCE - 859 BCE: Rule of king Ashurnasirpal II of Assyria who moves capital from Ashur to Kalhu (Caleh).
853 BCE: Babylonian kings depend on Assyrian military support.
841 BCE: Israel pays tribute to Assyria.
824 BCE - 811 BCE: Reign of King Shamshi Adad V under whose reign civil war erupts.
745 BCE - 727 BCE: Reign of Tiglath Pileser III who restructures government and military and expands empire.
729 BCE: Babylon is occupied by Assyrians.
727 BCE - 722 BCE: Reign of Shalmaneser V.
722 BCE - 705 BCE: Peak of the Assyrian empire under the reign of Sargon II.
722 BCE: Israel is conquered by Assyria.
722 BCE - 705 BCE: Reign of Sargon II of Assyria. Capital moved from Kalhu to Dur-Sharrukin.
705 BCE - 681 BCE: Reign of king Sennacherib of Assyria.
705 BCE: Sennacherib moves capital from Dur-Sharrukin to Nineveh.
701 BCE: King Sennacherib of Assyria sacks the city of Lachish in Judah but fails to take the capital Jerusalem.
681 BCE - 669 BCE: Reign of Esarhaddon who expands the empire.
676 BCE: Scythians and Mannaens attack Assyria.
671 BCE: Egypt is conquered by Assyria.
671 BCE: Second Egyptian Campaign, Assyrian army successfully captures Memphis and conquers Egypt.
668 BCE: Ashurbanipal succeeds his father as King of the Assyrian Empire.
668 BCE - 627 BCE: Reign of Ashurbanipal, the last great king of Assyria.
653 BCE: Egypt expels Assyrians.
648 BCE: War between Assyria and the Elamites.
627 BCE: Death of King Ashurbanipal.
627 BCE: Revolts break out following the death of Ashurbanipal, empire begins to fail.
612 BCE: Downfall of the Assyrian empire.
612 BCE: The great Assyrian cities of Ashur, Kalhu, and Nineveh are sacked and burned by the Medes, Babylonians, and Persian forces.
605 BCE - 549 BCE: Babylon rules over the Assyrian regions.
600 BCE: Assyrians control the Fertile Crescent.
549 BCE - 330 BCE: Persian rule in the region.
332 BCE - 330 BCE: Alexander the Great invades Syria, conquers the Persians.
312 BCE - 63 BCE: Duration of the Seleucid Empire.
115 CE - 116 CE: The Roman Empire conquers Mesopotamia.
226 CE - 650 CE: Sassanid Empire rules the region until the Arab Conquest of 7th century CE.
1900 BCE 1500 BCE 1100 BCE 700 BCE 300 BCE 100 CE 500 CE