The Royal House of Stuart


Mark Cartwright
published on 19 September 2022

The Stuart royal line (originally spelt Stewart) was founded in Scotland when Robert II took the throne in 1371. James VI of Scotland (in England known as James I) then unified the Scottish and English crowns following the death of Elizabeth I of England in 1603. The Stuarts went on to rule over both kingdoms until the death of Queen Anne in 1714.

In this collection, we examine in detail the reigns of the key Stuart monarchs north and south of the border. The House of Stuart provided a transition from the late medieval Tudors to the early modern Hannovers. Stuart monarchs – often too close for comfort – witnessed some tremendous events such as the Gunpowder Plot (1605), the English Civil Wars (1642-51), the execution of Charles I (1649) and the abolition of the monarchy, the Stuart Restoration (1660), and the Act of Union (1707).

The 14 Stuart monarchs were:



About the Author

Mark Cartwright
Mark is a full-time author, researcher, historian, and editor. Special interests include art, architecture, and discovering the ideas that all civilizations share. He holds an MA in Political Philosophy and is the WHE Publishing Director.

Free for the World, Supported by You

World History Encyclopedia is a non-profit organization. For only $5 per month you can become a member and support our mission to engage people with cultural heritage and to improve history education worldwide.

Become a Member