War of the Fifth Coalition


The War of the Fifth Coalition (1809) was a major conflict of the Napoleonic Wars (1803-1815) that was fought primarily in Central Europe between the First French Empire and its client states against the Austrian Empire, supported by the United Kingdom. The six-month conflict was the final victorious war in the career of Emperor Napoleon I (r. 1804-1814; 1815).

More about: War of the Fifth Coalition


  • 16 Jul 1808 - 19 Jul 1808
    A Spanish army defeats a French force at the Battle of Bailén, France's first major land defeat since the start of the Napoleonic Wars.
  • 10 Apr 1809
    Archduke Charles of Austria invades Bavaria with 200,000 men, sparking the War of the Fifth Coalition.
  • 19 Apr 1809 - 23 Apr 1809
    Napoleon defeats Archduke Charles in a string of battles during the Landshut Campaign.
  • 19 Apr 1809
    The Austrians defeat a Polish army at the Battle of Raszyn.
  • 13 May 1809
    Napoleon occupies Vienna for the second time.
  • 21 May 1809 - 22 May 1809
    Napoleon suffers his first defeat in ten years at the Battle of Aspern-Essling; French Marshal Jean Lannes is mortally wounded.
  • 29 May 1809
    Tyrolean rebels defeat a Franco-Bavarian army at the Second Battle of Bergisel.
  • 14 Jun 1809
    Viceroy Eugène de Beauharnais of Italy defeats Archduke John of Austria at the Battle of Raab.
  • 5 Jul 1809 - 6 Jul 1809
    Napoleon defeats Archduke Charles of Austria at the Battle of Wagram.
  • 12 Jul 1809
    The Armistice of Znaim is signed, ending hostilities between Austrian and French armies.
  • 14 Oct 1809
    The Treaty of Schönbrunn is signed between France and Austria; the War of the Fifth Coalition is over.
  • 10 Feb 1810
    Andreas Hofer, leader of the Tyrolean Rebellion, is executed on the direct order of Napoleon.
  • 1 Apr 1810
    Emperor Napoleon I is married to Archduchess Marie Louise of Austria.