Viceroyalty of New Spain, c. 1800

Server Costs Fundraiser 2023

Running a website with millions of readers every month is expensive. Not only do we pay for our servers, but also for related services such as our content delivery network, Google Workspace, email, and much more. We would much rather spend this money on producing more free history content for the world. Thank you for your help!
$41 / $21000


Simeon Netchev
published on 01 July 2022

A map depicting the Viceroyalty of New Spain (the first of four viceroyalties that the Spanish Crown established to govern its conquests) which, at its height, comprised five royal audiencias and over twelve Catholic dioceses covering vast and diverse territories that included present-day Mexico, Central America, Cuba, Santo Domingo, Puerto Rico, Florida, the Midwest and Southwest of the United States, California, and the Philippines. Established soon after the conquest of the Aztecs in 1521, New Spain endured until the rise of the Mexican Empire of Agustín de Iturbide in 1821.

Remove Ads


About the Author

Simeon Netchev
Simeon is a freelance visual designer with a deep interest in the human side of history. He believes that every image should be an interaction, a commentary, and a narrative, and every map should lead on an exciting journey of exploration and discovery.

Cite This Work

APA Style

Netchev, S. (2022, July 01). Viceroyalty of New Spain, c. 1800. World History Encyclopedia. Retrieved from

Chicago Style

Netchev, Simeon. "Viceroyalty of New Spain, c. 1800." World History Encyclopedia. Last modified July 01, 2022.

MLA Style

Netchev, Simeon. "Viceroyalty of New Spain, c. 1800." World History Encyclopedia. World History Encyclopedia, 01 Jul 2022. Web. 03 Feb 2023.