Zhou Dynasty


The Zhou Dynasty (1046-256 BCE) was among the most culturally significant of the early Chinese dynasties and the longest lasting of any in China's history, divided into two periods: Western Zhou (1046-771 BCE) and Eastern Zhou (771-256 BCE). It followed the Shang Dynasty (c. 1600-1046 BCE), and preceded the Qin Dynasty (221-206 BCE, pronounced “chin”) which gave China its name.

More about: Zhou Dynasty


  • 1046 BCE - 771 BCE
    Western Zhou dynasty replaces the Shang Dynasty in China.
  • 841 BCE - 828 BCE
    Gonghe Regency in the Western Zhou Dynasty. During this period, King Li of Zhou was exiled and the country was ruled by two dukes.
  • 772 BCE - 476 BCE
    The Spring and Autumn Period in China.
  • 771 BCE - 256 BCE
    Eastern Zhou Dynasty in China.
  • 771 BCE
    Following nomadic attacks in the west, the Chinese Zhou dynasty moves its capital east to Luoyang. Beginning of Eastern Zhou Period.
  • 551 BCE - 479 BCE
    Life of Confucius.
  • c. 500 BCE
    Probable life of the Chinese philosopher Lao-Tzu, founder of Taoism and author of the Tao-Te-Ching.
  • c. 481 BCE - 221 BCE
    Warring States Period in China.
  • 364 BCE
    Duke Xin, ruler of Qin, is awarded the title of Hegemon by the Zhou state.
  • 343 BCE
    Xiao, ruler of Qin, is awarded the title of Hegemon by the Zhou state.
  • 326 BCE
    Huiwen, ruler of Qin, is awarded royal status by the Zhou state.
  • 256 BCE
    The army of the state of Qin captures the city of Chengzhou and the last Zhou ruler, King Nan, is killed. End of the Zhou Dynasty.
  • 256 BCE
    The Qin absorbs the remains of the Zhou state.