Second Intermediate Period of Egypt


The Second Intermediate Period (c. 1782 - c.1570 BCE) is the era following the Middle Kingdom of Egypt (2040-1782 BCE) and preceding the New Kingdom (1570-1069 BCE). As with all historical designations of the eras of Egyptian history, the name was coined by 19th-century CE Egyptologists to demarcate time periods in Egypt's history; the name was not used by ancient Egyptians.

More about: Second Intermediate Period of Egypt


  • c. 1782 BCE - c. 1570 BCE
    Second Intermediate Period in Egypt.
  • c. 1700 BCE - c. 1600 BCE
    Egypt divided between three powers: Hyksos at Avaris, Egyptians at Thebes, Nubians to the south.
  • c. 1580 BCE
    Seqenera Taa (Ta'O) of Thebes leads army against Hyksos of Avaris.
  • c. 1575 BCE
    Kamose of Thebes sacks Avaris in attempt to unify Egypt and drive out foreign kings.
  • c. 1570 BCE
    Ahmose I of Thebes drives the Hyksos from Egypt and unifies the nation under Theban rule, ushering in the New Kingdom of Egypt and attributing his victory to Amun.
  • c. 1570 BCE - c. 1544 BCE
    Reign of Ahmose I in Egypt.