The Mayflower is the name of the cargo ship that brought the Puritan separatists (known as pilgrims) to North America in 1620 CE. It was a type of sailing ship known as a carrack with three masts with square-rigged sails on the main and foremast, three decks (upper, gun, and cargo), and measured roughly 100 feet (27 m) long and 25 feet (7 m) wide. The pilgrim passengers, and those not affiliated with the group, were quartered on the gun deck (also known as the Tween Deck as it was in-between the other two) which, with the 8 small cannons, 4 medium cannons, and other considerations, was reduced to a living space of roughly 70 feet (21 m) overall. The 30 or so crew members and captain quartered on the upper deck in the forecastle and aft castle, which also held pens for animals. Goods for the voyage were stored in the cargo hold, and passengers traveled in the tween. There were no windows on the tween deck and the ceiling was only 5 feet (1.5 m) high, with no latrines and no private rooms; these were the living conditions for the 102 passengers on their journey from 6 September to 11 November 1620 CE.

More about: Mayflower


  • 1620 - 1621
    Half of the pilgrims die during the winter of 1620-1621 from disease, exposure, and malnutrition.
  • 11 Nov 1620
    The Mayflower lands in the region of modern-day Massachusetts, North America, bringing the pilgrims to the New World.
  • 11 Nov 1620
    The Mayflower Compact is signed by the pilgrims establishing democratic government of the Plymouth Colony.
  • 1621 - 1622
    The pilgrims establish the Plymouth Colony with the help of Native Americans who teach them how to survive and flourish.
  • 1624
    The Mayflower is sold for scrap material after the death of her captain.