Mauryan Empire Timeline

Search Results

  • c. 350 BCE - 275 BCE
    Life of Kautilya, Indian stateman and philosopher, chief advisor and Prime Minister of the Indian Emperor Chandragupta.
  • 340 BCE - 298 BCE
    Life of Indian Emperor Chandragupta, first ruler of the Mauryan Empire.
  • 321 BCE
    Dhana Nanda, king of Magadha, is killed by Chandragupta Maurya.
  • c. 321 BCE - c. 298 BCE
    Reign of Chandragupta Maurya, first ruler of the Mauryan Empire.
  • c. 320 BCE - c. 180 BCE
    Mauryan rule in the Gandhara region, beginning with Chandragupta Maurya.
  • 320 BCE
    Chandragupta Maurya seizes the throne of Magadhan and expands the kingdom over northern and central India.
  • 305 BCE
    Emperor Chandragupta signs a treaty with Seleucos I, establishing borders and giving the Punjab to Chandragupta in return for 500 war elephants.
  • 300 BCE - 273 BCE
    Reign of Bindusara, the second ruler of the Mauryan Empire.
  • 298 BCE
    Chandragupta voluntarily abdicates the throne in favour of his son Bindusara. Jain sources say that Chandragupta turned into an ascetic and follower of Jainism, migrated south and starved himself to death.
  • 297 BCE - c. 273 BCE
    Chandragupta's son, Bindusara, rules and expands the Mauryan Empire.
  • 268 BCE - 232 BCE
    Reign of Ashoka the Great, third ruler of the Mauryan Empire.
  • 268 BCE
    Ashoka becomes emperor of the Mauryan Empire in India.
  • c. 260 BCE
    Ashoka conquers Kalinga. The bloodshed makes him remorseful, and he turns towards non-violence.
  • 232 BCE
    Indian ruler Ashoka dies and the Mauryan Empire declines within fifty years.
  • 187 BCE
    Brihadratha, the last ruler of the Mauryan dynasty is assassinated by his commander-in-chief, Pushyamitra Shunga.