Franz Schubert

Server Costs Fundraiser 2024

Help our mission to provide free history education to the world! Please donate and contribute to covering our server costs in 2024. With your support, millions of people learn about history entirely for free every month.
$2359 / $18000


Franz Schubert (1797-1828) was an Austrian composer of Romantic music best known for his songs, symphonies, piano music, and chamber music. Schubert's career lasted only 15 years, but he was a prolific composer. Neither a conductor or virtuoso player, Schubert did not gain international fame until well after his early death at the age of 31. He is today regarded as one of the principal founders of the Romantic music movement.

More about: Franz Schubert


  • 1797 - 1828
    Life of the Austrian composer Franz Schubert.
  • 31 Jan 1797
    The composer Franz Schubert is born in Vienna.
  • 1808
    Franz Schubert gains a scholarship to study at the imperial music college in Vienna.
  • 1813
    Franz Schubert joins Vienna’s imperial teacher’s training college.
  • 1813
    Franz Schubert writes his First Symphony.
  • 1815
    Franz Schubert writes his Second and Third Symphonies.
  • 1816
    Franz Schubert composes his Fourth and Fifth Symphonies.
  • 1818
    Franz Schubert spends five months on the country estate of Count Esterházy of Galánta teaching his daughters piano.
  • 1818
    Franz Schubert completes his Sixth Symphony.
  • 1819
    Franz Schubert and Johann Michael Vogl spend the summer months in Steyr in Upper Austria.
  • 1819
    Franz Schubert composes his Die Forelle - The Trout Piano Quintet.
  • 1820
    Premiere of Franz Scubert's comic opera Die Zwillingsbrüder (The Twin Brothers).
  • 1821
    Franz Schubert gains wider recongition when one of his songs is premiered at Vienna’s Burgtheater.
  • 1821
    Franz Schubert abandons his Seventh Symphony in sketch form.
  • 1822
    Franz Schubert composes his Eighth Symphony; it is titled 'Unfinshed' since it has only two movements.
  • 1822
    Franz Schubert composes his The Wanderer Fantasy for Piano.
  • 1823
    Franz Schubert composes his Die schöne Müllerin - The Fair Maid of the Mill song cycle.
  • 1824
    Franz Schubert composes his Death & the Maiden String Quartet.
  • 1827
    Franz Schubert composes his Winterreise - Winter Journey song cycle.
  • 1828
    Franz Schubert composes his Ninth Symphony.
  • 1828
    Franz Schubert composes his String Quintet in C, Mass in E-flat, and Fantasy in F minor for piano duet.
  • 19 Nov 1828
    The composer Franz Schubert dies of typhoid fever at the age of 31.