Estado da India Timeline

Search Results

  • 1505 - 1961
    The Estado da India is in existence, that part of the Portuguese Empire from East Africa to Japan.
  • 1505
    The Portuguese begin to attack cities and build forts along the Swahili Coast in order to control trade.
  • 1510 - 1961
    Goa on the west coast of india is a Portuguese colony.
  • 1510
    Afonso de Albuquerque conquers Goa in India for Portugal.
  • 1511
    Afonso de Albuquerque captures Malacca in Malaysia for Portugal.
  • 1511 - 1641
    Malacca in Malaysia is a Portuguese colony.
  • 1515
    Hormuz at the mouth of the Persian Gulf is colonized by the Portuguese.
  • 1518
    The Portuguese establish a fort at Colombo, Sri Lanka.
  • 1519 - 1522
    Ferdinand Magellan's expedition circumnavigates the globe for the first time.
  • 1519
    The Portuguese establish a fort at Kollam in India.
  • 1521
    The Portuguese establish a fort at Chaul in India.
  • 1530
    Portuguese Goa replaces Cochin as the capital of the Estado da India.
  • 1533
    A papal bull establishes the archdiocese of the Estado da India.
  • 1543
    Three Portuguese mariners accidentally land in Japan, the first Europeans to do so.
  • 1546
    The Portuguese establish a formidable fortress on Mozambique Island.
  • c. 1557
    The Chinese Ming Dynasty grants the Portuguese a trading base of their own at Macao.
  • 1571 - 1639
    The Portuguese control the port of Nagasaki in Japan.
  • c. 1571
    The Japanese daimyo Omura Sumitada grants the Portuguese control of Nagasaki.
  • 1596
    The Dutch arrive in Southeast Asia and challenge the Portuguese and their empire.
  • 1604
    A Council of State is established at Portuguese Goa.
  • 1622
    The Persians, with English assistance, take control of Hormuz from the Portuguese.
  • c. 1633
    The Portuguese conquer the southern African kingdom of Mutapa.
  • Dec 1637 - Apr 1638
    The Shimabara Uprising in Japan which the shogunate blames on Christians, leading to an expulsion of all Europeans.
  • 1638 - 1644
    Dutch forces attempt to blockade Portuguese Goa.
  • 1640 - 1668
    Spain is at war with Portugal.
  • 1641
    The Dutch attack and take over Portuguese Malacca.
  • 1656
    The Dutch attack and take over Portuguese Colombo.
  • 1663
    The Dutch attack and take over Portuguese Cochin.
  • 1799 - 1815
    Portuguese Goa is occupied by the British during the Napoleonic Wars.
  • 1961
    Portuguese Goa is invaded by the Indian military.
  • 1999
    Portuguese Macao is handed over to China.