Tipitaka (Sansktrit: Tripitaka), the Buddhist canon, consists of three pitaka (Tri means three and Pitaka refers to boxes), namely Vinaya or Monastic regimen, Sutta (Sanskrit: Sutra) or Discourses and Abhidhamma (Sanskrit: Abhidharma) or Abstract doctrine. Dhammapada (Sanskrit: Dharmapada) belongs to Khuddaka nikaya (Minor collection), which itself is a part of the Sutta pitaka. The name is a combination of two words Dharma and Pada. Dharma can be roughly translated into religious virtue and Pada into stanzas or steps.

More about: Dhammapada


  • c. 200 CE
    Dhammapada is translated to Chinese and other Asian languages.
  • c. 450 CE
    Buddhist scholar Buddhaghosa writes his commentary on Dhammapada.
  • 1855 CE
    First Latin translation of the Dhammapada.