Committee of Public Safety Timeline

Search Results

  • 6 Apr 1793
    The Committee of Public Safety is set up by the National Convention.
  • 27 Jul 1793
    Maximilien Robespierre elected to the Committee of Public Safety; the National Convention institutes death penalty for hoarders of goods.
  • 23 Aug 1793
    Levée en masse is enacted by the French Republic; within a year over a million soldiers are raised.
  • 4 Dec 1793
    Law of 14 Frimaire codifies the dictatorial powers of the Committee of Public Safety.
  • 5 Apr 1794
    Execution of the Dantonists, including Georges Danton, Camille Desmoulins, Hérault de Séchelles, & Fabre d'Eglantine.
  • 28 Jul 1794
    Execution of Robespierre, Saint-Just, and Couthon; end to the Terror.