Anglo-Powhatan Wars


The Anglo-Powhatan Wars were a series of conflicts between the English colonists of Virginia and the indigenous people of the Powhatan Confederacy between 1610-1646 CE. The Powhatan Confederacy (of over 30 tribes) was led by the chief Wahunsenacah (l. c. 1547 - c. 1618 CE) when Jamestown Colony of Virginia was established by the English in 1607 CE.

More about: Anglo-Powhatan Wars


  • 1610 - 1646
    The Anglo-Powhatan Wars of Virginia.
  • 1610 - 1614
    Wahunsenacah launches and directs the First Powhatan War in an effort to drive the English from his land.
  • 1614
    John Rolfe marries Pocahontas; union ends the First Powhatan War.
  • 1614 - 1622
    Peace of Pocahontas between English colonists and Powhatans; established by the marriage of Pocahontas and John Rolfe.
  • 1622 - 1626
    Second Powhatan War.
  • 22 Mar 1622
    The "Indian Massacre" of the Jamestown colony when the Powhatan Confederacy fights for their land; over 300 colonists killed.
  • c. 1630 - 1644
    Peace between English Colonists and Native Americans kept by palisade built between them.
  • 1644 - 1646
    Third Powhatan War.
  • 1646
    Powhatan Confederacy dissolved by Treaty of 1646.
  • 1677
    Treaty of Middle Plantation sets up reservations for the surviving Powhatan tribes; English colonists claim Powhatan lands.