The Nine Muses of Greek Mythology


Simeon Netchev
published on 19 December 2023
The Nine Muses of Greek Mythology Download Full Size Image

An infographic depicting the nine Muses of Greek mythology. The Muses are a group of divine sisters who govern various aspects of creativity and intellectual pursuits. Originally, the ancient Greeks recognized three Muses: Melete, Mneme, and Aoide, overseeing meditation, memory, and song, respectively. However, over time, the Muses expanded into a group of nine, each with her distinct domain. Calliope presides over epic poetry and eloquence, Clio over history, Euterpe over music and lyric poetry, Thalia over comedy, and Melpomene over tragedy. Terpsichore leads in dance and choral song, Erato in love poetry, Polyhymnia in sacred poetry, hymns, and eloquence, while Urania's influence extends to astronomy and celestial navigation. The codification of the nine Muses took place during the early centuries of the first millennium BCE. Hesiod, a Greek poet who lived around the 8th century BCE, is often credited with formalizing the concept of the nine Muses in his epic poem "Theogony." In this work, Hesiod introduced the names and domains of each Muse, solidifying their roles in inspiring various forms of art, literature, and intellectual pursuits.

Remove Ads
Subscribe to this author

About the Author

Simeon Netchev
Simeon is a freelance visual designer with a deep interest in the human side of history. He believes that every image should be an interaction, a commentary, and a narrative, and every map should lead on an exciting journey of exploration and discovery.

Cite This Work

APA Style

Netchev, S. (2023, December 19). The Nine Muses of Greek Mythology. World History Encyclopedia. Retrieved from

Chicago Style

Netchev, Simeon. "The Nine Muses of Greek Mythology." World History Encyclopedia. Last modified December 19, 2023.

MLA Style

Netchev, Simeon. "The Nine Muses of Greek Mythology." World History Encyclopedia. World History Encyclopedia, 19 Dec 2023. Web. 27 May 2024.