Njals Saga in the Modruvallabok

Server Costs Fundraiser 2021

Please help us pay for the servers and web services required to operate our non-profit organization's website. Any donation helps, no matter how small: If every visitor were to give only $1 we would be fully funded within a day.

Donate Now


Emma Groeneveld
by GDK
published on 18 February 2019
Send to Google Classroom:

Folio 13r, showing a page from Njáls saga, from the Möðruvallabók (AM 132), an Icelandic manuscript from c. 1330-1370 CE containing the most significant surviving collection of Sagas of Icelanders. It records some sagas in full or in part that do not survive anywhere else. The following sagas are included, in this order:

Njáls saga
Egils saga
Finnboga saga ramma
Bandamanna saga
Kormáks saga
Víga-Glúms saga
Droplaugarsona saga
Ǫlkofra saga (or Ǫlkofra þáttr)
Hallfreðar saga
Laxdæla saga (with Bolla þáttr)
Fóstbrœðra saga

Remove Ads


Cite This Work

APA Style

GDK, . (2019, February 18). Njals Saga in the Modruvallabok. World History Encyclopedia. Retrieved from https://www.worldhistory.org/image/10116/njals-saga-in-the-modruvallabok/

Chicago Style

GDK, . "Njals Saga in the Modruvallabok." World History Encyclopedia. Last modified February 18, 2019. https://www.worldhistory.org/image/10116/njals-saga-in-the-modruvallabok/.

MLA Style

GDK, . "Njals Saga in the Modruvallabok." World History Encyclopedia. World History Encyclopedia, 18 Feb 2019. Web. 04 Aug 2021.