Tughlaq Dynasty


The Tughlaq dynasty (also spelt Tughluq), ruled the Delhi sultanate from 1320 to 1413. Followed by the Khalji dynasty and preceded by the Sayyids, the Tughlaq dynasty formed an important period in the history and culture of the Sultanate. Economic life accelerated due to the establishment of karkhanas or factories, and irrigated canals facilitated agriculture. Inland and maritime trade increased and quickened the process of urbanization. Urban centers, schools, mosques, and public buildings also proliferated.

More about: Tughlaq Dynasty


  • 1320 - 1413
    The Tughlaq dynasty rules the Delhi sultante.
  • 1320 - 1325
    Reign of Ghiyasuddin Tughluq (aka Ghiyath al-Din Tughluq), founder of the Tughlaq dynasty.
  • 1325 - 1351
    Reign of Muhammad Bin Tughluq of the Dehli Sultanate.
  • 1351 - 1388
    Reign of Feroz (or Firuz) Shah Tughluq of the Delhi Sultanate.
  • 1394 - 1412
    Reign of Nasir Muhammad Shah of the Delhi Sultanate, last of the Tughlaq dynasty.