Treaties of Tilsit


The Treaties of Tilsit were two peace treaties signed in July 1807 by Emperor Napoleon I of France (r. 1804-1814; 1815) and the monarchs of Russia and Prussia in the aftermath of the Battle of Friedland. The treaties ended the War of the Fourth Coalition, solidified French control of Central Europe at Prussia's expense, and turned Russia into a Napoleonic ally.

More about: Treaties of Tilsit


  • 14 Jun 1807
    Napoleon's Grande Armee decisively beats the Russians at the Battle of Friedland.
  • 25 Jun 1807
    Emperor Napoleon I of France and Tsar Alexander I of Russia meet on a raft in the Niemen River to discuss terms of peace.
  • 7 Jul 1807
    Napoleon and Tsar Alexander I sign the Treaties of Tilsit, entering a Franco-Russian alliance.
  • 7 Jul 1807 - 9 Jul 1807
    The Treaties of Tilsit end the War of the Fourth Coalition; Prussia is subjugated to France, the Duchy of Warsaw is established in Poland, Russia becomes a French ally.