Edvard Grieg Timeline

Search Results

  • 1843 - 1907
    The life of the Norwegian composer Edvard Grieg.
  • 15 Jun 1843
    Edvard Grieg is born in Bergen, Norway.
  • 1858
    Edvard Grieg enrols at the Leipzig Conservatory.
  • 1863
    Edvard Grieg moves to Copenhagen.
  • 1867
    Edvard Grieg moves to the Norwegian capital Christiania (now Oslo).
  • Jun 1867
    Edvard Grieg marries his cousin Nina Hagerup.
  • 1868
    Edvard Grieg completes his Piano Concerto.
  • 1872
    The first performance of Sigurd Jorsalfar, written by Bjørnstjerne Bjørnson and with instrumental music by Edvard Grieg.
  • Feb 1876
    The first performance of Peer Gynt, written by Henrik Ibsen with instrumental music by Edvard Grieg.
  • 1884
    Edvard Grieg completes his Holberg Suite.
  • 1885
    Edvard Grieg begins to spend summers at Troldhaugen, his villa near Bergen.
  • 1897
    Edvard Grieg completes his Slåtter (Norwegian Dances).
  • 1906
    Edvard Grieg undertakes his final concert tour in England.
  • 4 Sep 1907
    Edvard Grieg dies of lung disease in Bergen, Norway.