Cuzco Timeline

Search Results

  • c. 1100
    The Inca, led by Manco Capac, migrate to the Cuzco Valley and establish their capital at Cuzco.
  • c. 1425 - 1532
    The Inca Empire flourishes in South America.
  • 1438
    Pachacuti Inca Yupanqui defeats the Chancas to control the Cuzco Valley and further expand the Inca empire.
  • 1438
    Pachacunti Inca Yupanqui begins a rebuilding programme in the Inca capital of Cuzco.
  • 1471 - 1493
    Reign of Inca Tupac Yupanqui who doubles the size of the Inca Empire.
  • 1493 - 1526
    Huayna Capac reigns as Inca leader and constructs fortresses, religious temples and roads throughout the empire.
  • 1526 - 1532
    Civil war between the Inca leaders Waskar and Atahualpa. Atahualpa wins.
  • 1530
    The Inca empire reaches its greatest extent.
  • 1532
    Francsico Pizarro and the Spanish conquistadors arrive in South America.
  • 16 Nov 1532
    Battle of Cajamarca where the Inca leader Atahualpa is captured and held for ransom by Spanish forces led by Francisco Pizarro.
  • 26 Jul 1533
    The Inca leader Atahualpa is executed.
  • 15 Nov 1533
    Francisco Pizarro takes the Inca capital of Cuzco.
  • 18 Jan 1535
    Francsico Pizarro founds Lima (Ciudad de Los Reyes) as the capital of Spanish Peru.