Anglo-Nepalese War


The Anglo-Nepalese War (aka Gurkha War, 1814-16) saw the British East India Company (EIC) lose several battles against Nepalese Gurkhas before finally securing victory in a hard-fought campaign that, for the first time, extended EIC control beyond the borders of India. Impressed with the Gurkhas' fighting abilities, the British have enrolled them in their armies ever since.

More about: Anglo-Nepalese War


  • 1814 - 1816
    The Anglo-Nepalese War between Nepal and the East India Company.
  • Apr 1814
    The East India Company declares war on Nepal.
  • Apr 1814
    A small East India Company force in northern India is wiped out by Nepalese raiders.
  • Oct 1814 - Nov 1814
    The East India Company suffers several losses in the Anglo-Nepalese War.
  • 1815
    David Ochterlony wins several victories for the East India Company in the Anglo-Nepalese War.
  • 1816
    The Treaty of Sugauli ends the Anglo-Nepalese War and makes Nepal a British protectorate.
  • 29 Feb 1816
    The East India Company wins the decisive Battle of Makwanpur in the Anglo-Nepalese War.