Anglo-Mysore Wars

Server Costs Fundraiser 2024

Help our mission to provide free history education to the world! Please donate and contribute to covering our server costs in 2024. With your support, millions of people learn about history entirely for free every month.
$2067 / $18000


The Four Anglo-Mysore Wars (1767-1799) were fought between the British East India Company (EIC) and the state of Mysore. Haidar Ali and his son Tipu Sultan, the "Tiger of Mysore", were relentless foes to British expansion in southern India but were eventually subdued by the triple alliance of the EIC, the Maratha Confederacy, and the Nizam of Hyderabad.

More about: Anglo-Mysore Wars


  • 1761
    Haidar Ali usurps the throne of the Kingdom of Mysore.
  • 1767 - 1769
    First Anglo-Mysore War.
  • 1767 - 1799
    The four Anglo-Mysore Wars see the East India Company expand its territories in India.
  • Aug 1767
    Haidar Ali, ruler of the kingdom of Mysore, declares war on the East India Company.
  • Sep 1767
    The East India Company defeats Mysore and the Nizam of Hyderabad at the battle of Trinamalai.
  • 1780 - 1784
    Second Anglo-Mysore War.
  • Sep 1780
    The Kingdom of Mysore defeats the East India Company at the battle of Pollilur.
  • Jul 1781
    The East India Company defeats the Kingdom of Mysore at the battle of Porto Novo (Parangipettai).
  • 1782 - 1799
    Reign of Tipu Sultan (aka Tipoo Sahib), ruler of the Kingdom of Mysore.
  • Dec 1789
    The Kingdom of Mysore attacks the Kingdom of Travancore in southern India.
  • 1790 - 1792
    Third Anglo-Mysore War.
  • Jan 1792
    The Treaty of Seringapatam ends the Third Anglo-Mysore War and obliges Mysore to give up half its territory to the East India Company.
  • 1799
    Fourth Anglo-Mysore War.
  • 7 Apr 1799
    An East India Company army begins a one-month siege of Seringapatam, capital of the Kingdom of Mysore.
  • 3 May 1799
    The East India Company wins the Anglo-Mysore Wars by capturing Seringapatam. Tipu Sultan of Mysore is killed and the kingdom becomes a British protectorate.
  • 1831
    The East India Company takes over the Kingdom of Mysore.