The British Raj c. 1930

Server Costs Fundraiser 2024

Help our mission to provide free history education to the world! Please donate and contribute to covering our server costs in 2024. With your support, millions of people learn about history entirely for free every month.
$2899 / $18000


Simeon Netchev
published on 13 October 2022
The British Raj c. 1930 Download Full Size Image

A map illustrating the extent and composition of the British Raj (from Hindi for kingdom, government) - a period of direct British rule over the subcontinent of India that started in 1858. After the Sepoy Mutiny of 1857, the Act for the Better Government officially transferred the administration of India from the East India Company to the British government, Bahadur Shah, the last Mughal Emperor, was deported to Burma, and Queen Victoria was proclaimed the Empress. Although the British maintained military control and directly administered large swaths of land in South Asia, two-fifths of the subcontinent was fragmented into about eight hundred native principalities, called princely states, with various degrees of independence under British subsidiary alliances. This system of governance lasted until 1947, when British India was partitioned into two sovereign dominion states: the Dominion of India and the Dominion of Pakistan.

Remove Ads
Subscribe to this author

About the Author

Simeon Netchev
Simeon is a freelance visual designer with a deep interest in the human side of history. He believes that every image should be an interaction, a commentary, and a narrative, and every map should lead on an exciting journey of exploration and discovery.

Cite This Work

APA Style

Netchev, S. (2022, October 13). The British Raj c. 1930. World History Encyclopedia. Retrieved from

Chicago Style

Netchev, Simeon. "The British Raj c. 1930." World History Encyclopedia. Last modified October 13, 2022.

MLA Style

Netchev, Simeon. "The British Raj c. 1930." World History Encyclopedia. World History Encyclopedia, 13 Oct 2022. Web. 19 Jul 2024.