The Julio-Claudian Dynasty


Mark Cartwright
published on 26 February 2021
The Julio-Claudian Dynasty Download Full Size Image

The five Roman emperors of the Julio-Claudian dynasty. These were:

  • Augustus (r. 27 BCE - 14 CE) - centre photo
  • Tiberius (r. 14-37 CE) - top left
  • Caligula (r. 37-41 CE) - top right
  • Claudius (r. 41-54 CE) - bottom left
  • Nero (r. 54-68 CE) - bottom right

The respective museums are:

Augustus - Corinth Archaeological Museum

Tiberius - Vatican Museums, Rome

Caligula - Ny Carlsberg Glyptotek, Copenhagen

Claudius - Altes Museum Berlin

Nero - Olympia Archaeological Museum

All images by Mark Cartwright except Caligula by Carole Raddato.

Remove Ads
Subscribe to this author

About the Author

Mark Cartwright
Mark is a full-time writer, researcher, historian, and editor. Special interests include art, architecture, and discovering the ideas that all civilizations share. He holds an MA in Political Philosophy and is the WHE Publishing Director.

Cite This Work

APA Style

Cartwright, M. (2021, February 26). The Julio-Claudian Dynasty. World History Encyclopedia. Retrieved from

Chicago Style

Cartwright, Mark. "The Julio-Claudian Dynasty." World History Encyclopedia. Last modified February 26, 2021.

MLA Style

Cartwright, Mark. "The Julio-Claudian Dynasty." World History Encyclopedia. World History Encyclopedia, 26 Feb 2021. Web. 22 Jun 2024.