War of the Third Coalition

Server Costs Fundraiser 2024

Help our mission to provide free history education to the world! Please donate and contribute to covering our server costs in 2024. With your support, millions of people learn about history entirely for free every month.
$3854 / $18000


The War of the Third Coalition (1805-1806) was a major European conflict during the Napoleonic Wars (1803-1815). It was fought by an alliance of nations that included the United Kingdom, Russia, Austria, Sweden, Naples, and Sicily, against the First French Empire of Napoleon I (r. 1804-1814; 1815), its client states, and its reluctant ally of Spain.

More about: War of the Third Coalition


  • 18 May 1803
    Britain declares war on France, beginning the Napoleonic Wars.
  • Jun 1803 - Aug 1805
    Napoleon gathers a massive army at Boulogne for a planned invasion of England; this is the origin of Napoleon's famous Grande Armée.
  • 21 Mar 1804
    The Duke of Enghien is executed after a sham trial; the controversial killing stains the reputation of Napoleon Bonaparte.
  • 25 Sep 1805 - 20 Oct 1805
    Napoleon's Ulm Campaign results in the elimination of an Austrian army under General Mack.
  • 21 Oct 1805
    The Battle of Trafalgar results in a decisive British victory over a Franco-Spanish fleet. It is one of the most famous naval victories in British history.
  • 29 Oct 1805
    French Marshal André Masséna prevents Austrian Archduke Charles from leaving Italy to rush to Vienna's aid in the Second Battle of Caldiero.
  • 13 Nov 1805
    Napoleon captures Vienna.
  • 2 Dec 1805
    Napoleon's Grande Armée smashes an Austro-Russian army at the Battle of Austerlitz.
  • 26 Dec 1805
    Austria signs the Treaty of Pressburg and exits the Third Coalition.
  • 30 Mar 1806
    Joseph Bonaparte is installed as King of Naples.
  • 4 Jul 1806
    In Italy, a British expeditionary force under Sir John Stuart defeats a French army under General Jean Reynier in the Battle of Maida.
  • 12 Jul 1806
    The Confederation of the Rhine is established under the protection of France; the Holy Roman Empire is dissolved.