Roman Triumph


A Roman triumph was a spectacular celebration parade held in the ancient city of Rome for a military commander who had won an important victory on the battlefield. Granted by the Senate, it was a lavish and entertaining propaganda spectacle which reminded the people of the glory of Rome and its military superiority above all other nations.

More about: Roman Triumph


  • 211 BCE
    Marcus Claudius Marcellus is given a triumph for his capture of Syracuse and victories in Sicily.
  • 80 BCE
    Sulla is persuaded to give Pompey his first triumph in Rome.
  • 71 BCE
    Pompey is granted his second triumph for his victories in Spain.
  • 61 BCE
    Pompey is granted his third triumph in Rome for his exploits in Asia.
  • 46 BCE
    Julius Caesar celebrates a triple triumph in Rome.
  • 34 BCE
    Mark Antony celebrates an unofficial triumph in Alexandria following his victories in Armenia.
  • 29 BCE
    Octavian celebrates a triple triumph in Rome.
  • 71 CE
    Vespasian and Titus celebrate a triumph in Rome following victory in Judaea.
  • 330 CE
    Diocletian and Maximian celebrate a triumph in Rome for their victories in Britain and Africa.
  • 534 CE
    Belisarius celebrates a triumph in Constantinople following victories against the Persians and Vandals.