Libation Bearers


The play Libation Bearers was written by one of the greatest of all Greek tragedians Aeschylus (c. 525-455 BCE). Winning first prize at the Dionysia competition in 458 BCE, Libation Bearers was the second play in the trilogy The Oresteia; the remaining two tragedies were Agamemnon and Eumenides. As was common in many of the competitions, there was also a satyr play, the lost Proteus.

More about: Libation Bearers