Jean Sibelius


Jean Sibelius (1865-1957) was a Finnish composer famous for his symphonies, the symphonic poem Finlandia, and the Karelia Suite. Although Sibelius inspired a music revival in his native country, became a figurehead for the Finnish nationalist movement, and gained worldwide fame for his music, he did not publish any new work in the last 30 years of his life.

More about: Jean Sibelius


  • 1865 - 1957
    The life of the Finnish composer Jean Sibelius.
  • 8 Dec 1865
    Jean Sibelius is born in Hämeenlinna in southern Finland.
  • 1881
    Jean Sibelius studies in Vienna and Berlin.
  • 1886
    Jean Sibelius enters the Conservatory of Helsinki.
  • 1892
    The symphonic poem Kullervo by Jean Sibelius is first performed.
  • 1893
    Jean Sibelius completes his Karelia Suite.
  • 1893 - 1897
    Jean Sibelius works on his Lemminkünen Legends symphonic-poem quartet.
  • 1899
    Jean Sibelius composes his symphonic poem Finlandia.
  • 1899 - 1924
    Jean Sibelius writes seven symphonies.
  • 1903 - 1905
    Jean Sibelius works on his Violin Concerto.
  • 1904
    Jean Sibelius begins to live in a large purpose-built house named Ainola by Lake Tuusula outside Järvenpää, Finland.
  • 1904
    The Valse triste by Jean Sibelius is first performed.
  • 1906
    The symphonic poem Pohjolan tytär (Pohjola’s Daughter) by Jean Sibelius is first performed.
  • 1908
    Jean Sibelius is diagnosed with throat cancer. He is cured after several operations.
  • 1926
    The symphonic poem Tapiola composed by Jean Sibelius is first performed.
  • 20 Sep 1957
    Jean Sibelius dies at his home Ainola, Finland.