Eighty Years' War


The Eighty Years' War (1568-1648, also known as The Dutch Revolt and Dutch War of Independence) was a military conflict between the seventeen provinces of the Netherlands and Spain, which then governed them, beginning in the reign of King Philip II of Spain (1556-1598). Peace was concluded in 1648 with the establishment of the Dutch Republic.

More about: Eighty Years' War


  • c. 1555 - 1568
    Religious tensions mount in the Netherlands in response to Philip II's edict and the imposition of the Inquisition.
  • 1556
    Philip II of Spain issues his Edict of 1556, a continuation of Charles V's 1550 Edict, outlawing Protestant sects, books, preaching, and meetings in the Netherlands.
  • 1566
    Protestants in the Netherlands engage in the Beeldenstorm ("Statue Storm") destroying Catholic iconography.
  • 1567
    The Duke of Alba persecutes Protestants under Philip II's edict; thousands are executed.
  • 1568 - 1648
    The Eighty Years' War in the Netherlands.
  • 1568
    Montmorency and Egmont executed; William the Silent flees to the Holy Roman Empire; War begins.
  • 1609 - 1621
    Twelve Years' Truce; Netherlands becomes a major European power.
  • 1621 - 1648
    Hostilities resume until concluded by the Peace of Westphalia.