Visual Timeline: Islam

To navigate the timeline, click and drag it with your mouse, or click on the timeline overview on the bottom.

570 CE 580 CE 590 CE 600 CE 610 CE 620 CE 630 CE 640 CE 650 CE 660 CE 670 CE 680 CE 690 CE 700 CE 710 CE 720 CE 730 CE 740 CE 750 CE 760 CE 770 CE 780 CE 790 CE 800 CE 810 CE 820 CE 830 CE 840 CE 850 CE 860 CE 870 CE 880 CE 890 CE 900 CE 910 CE 920 CE 930 CE 940 CE 950 CE 960 CE 970 CE 980 CE 990 CE 1000 CE 1010 CE 1020 CE 1030 CE 1040 CE 1050 CE 1060 CE 1070 CE 1080 CE 1090 CE 1100 CE 1110 CE 1120 CE 1130 CE 1140 CE 1150 CE 1160 CE 1170 CE 1180 CE 1190 CE 1200 CE 1210 CE 1220 CE 1230 CE 1240 CE 1250 CE 1260 CE 1270 CE 1280 CE 1290 CE 1300 CE 1310 CE 1320 CE 1330 CE 1340 CE  
570 CE: Muhammad is born in Mecca.
610 CE: Muhammad receives his first revelation on Mount Hira.
622 CE: Muhammad undertakes the Hegira (Hijra), the migration from Mecca to Medina, establishing the start of the Islamic calendar.
624 CE: Battle of Badr: Muhammad's forces win, resulting in a turning point for Islam against the ruling Quraysh tribe.
625 CE: Battle of Uhud: Quraysh tribe defeats the Muslims.
627 CE: Battle of the Trench: Quraysh troops attempt to siege Medina (then called Yathrib), but lose to the Muslim force.
627 CE: Siege of Bani Qurayzah: Muslims capture the Jewish stronghold.
628 CE: Treaty of Hudaybiyyah: A peace agreement is signed between Muhammad's Muslims and the people of Mecca.
628 CE: Conquest of Khaybar oasis: Jews barricade themselves in a fort at Khaybar oasis and are allowed to remain living there if they pay the Muslims one third of their produce.
629 CE: First Pilgrimage ("lesser" pilgrimage or "umrah") made by Muhammad and his Muslims to Mecca after migrating to Medina.
629 CE: Battle of Mu'tah: Muslims attempt to capture the village east of the Jordan River from the Byzantine Empire to show their expanding dominance, resulting in a Muslim defeat.
630 CE: Non-violent conquest of Mecca: The Quraysh realize that the Muslims now greatly outnumber them and allow the Muslims to capture their city, Mecca, and rule it as they please.
630 CE: Battle of Hunayn: Ending in a decisive victory for the Muslims over the Bedouin tribe of Hawazin.
630 CE: Attempted Siege of Ta'if: Muhammad's forces are initially unable to siege Ta'if and convert its people to Islam.
632 CE: "Farewell Hajj Pilgrimage": This is the only Hajj pilgrimage in which Muhammad participates.
632 CE: Muhammad dies in Medina, not clearly naming a successor to lead the Muslim people.
632 CE - 634 CE: Abu Bakr becomes the first caliph (successor to Muhammad) of the Rashidun Caliphate.
634 CE - 644 CE: 'Umar ibn al-Khattab succeeds Abu Bakr, becoming the second caliph of the Rashidun Caliphate.
637 CE: Muslim invasion of the Levant. The Byzantines are driven out.
644 CE - 656 CE: 'Uthman ibn 'Affan succeeds Umar to become the third caliph of the Rashidun Caliphate.
650 CE: Uthman orders the establishment of one "true" Quran while destroying the others.
651 CE: Muslim Conquest of Mesopotamia.
656 CE - 661 CE: Ali ibn Abi Talib succeeds Uthman to become the fourth and final caliph of the Rashidun Caliphate.
670 CE: Hasan ibn Ali, Shia Islam's second imam (his father, Ali ibn Abi Talib, being the first imam), is poisoned to death.
680 CE: Husayn ibn Ali, Shia Islam's third imam, is beheaded by Yazid I's force at the Battle of Karbala in present-day Iraq.
750 CE: Fall of the Umayyad Caliphate.
750 CE: Start of the Abbasid Caliphate.
754 CE - 775 CE: Reign of Al-Mansur over the Abbasid Caliphate.
756 CE: Abd al-Rahman I establishes the Emirate of Cordoba.
756 CE - 788 CE: Reign of Abd al-Rahman I over the Emirate of Cordoba.
777 CE: Zaragoza invites Charlemagne into Spain.
783 CE: The city of Zaragoza falls to forces from the Emirate of Cordoba.
784 CE: Abd al-Rahman I begins construction on the Great Mosque of Cordoba.
788 CE: Death of Abd al-Rahman I of the Emirate of Cordoba.
1031 CE: Fall of the Umayyad Caliphate of Cordoba.
1313 CE - 1341 CE: Uzbeg rules the Golden Horde and makes Islam the state religion.
570 CE 650 CE 730 CE 810 CE 890 CE 970 CE 1050 CE 1130 CE 1210 CE 1290 CE