Visual Timeline: Sargonid Dynasty

To navigate the timeline, click and drag it with your mouse, or click on the timeline overview on the bottom.

750 BCE 740 BCE 730 BCE 720 BCE 710 BCE 700 BCE 690 BCE 680 BCE 670 BCE 660 BCE 650 BCE 640 BCE 630 BCE 620 BCE  
745 BCE - 727 BCE: Reign of Tiglath Pileser III who restructures government and military and expands empire.
727 BCE - 722 BCE: Reign of Shalmaneser V.
722 BCE - 705 BCE: Peak of the Assyrian empire under the reign of Sargon II.
722 BCE - 612 BCE: The Sargonid Dynasty of Assyria.
705 BCE: Sennacherib moves capital from Dur-Sharrukin to Nineveh.
705 BCE - 681 BCE: Reign of king Sennacherib of Assyria.
701 BCE: King Sennacherib of Assyria sacks the city of Lachish in Judah but fails to take the capital Jerusalem.
681 BCE - 669 BCE: Reign of Esarhaddon who expands the empire.
671 BCE: Second Egyptian Campaign, Assyrian army successfully captures Memphis and conquers Egypt.
671 BCE: Egypt is conquered by Assyria.
668 BCE - 627 BCE: Reign of Ashurbanipal, the last great king of Assyria.
668 BCE: Ashurbanipal succeeds his father as King of the Assyrian Empire.
648 BCE: War between Assyria and the Elamites.
627 BCE: Revolts break out following the death of Ashurbanipal, empire begins to fail.
627 BCE: Death of King Ashurbanipal.
612 BCE: The great Assyrian cities of Ashur, Kalhu, and Nineveh are sacked and burned by the Medes, Babylonians, and Persian forces.
612 BCE: Downfall of the Assyrian empire.
750 BCE 730 BCE 710 BCE 690 BCE 670 BCE 650 BCE 630 BCE