Visual Timeline: Roman Coinage

To navigate the timeline, click and drag it with your mouse, or click on the timeline overview on the bottom.

400 BCE 300 BCE 200 BCE 100 BCE 0 CE 100 CE 200 CE 300 CE  
326 BCE: The first Roman coins are minted at Neapolis.
211 BCE: A new system of Roman coinage is introduced which includes the silver denarius.
200 BCE: Rome now dominates the production of coinage in Italy.
157 BCE: There is a boom in the production of Roman silver coinage, in part thanks to the acquisition of silver mines in Macedonia.
141 BCE: The Roman bronze as coin is devalued so that now 16 as equal one silver denarius.
135 BCE: The Roman magistrates responsible for coinage begin to stamp coins with images of landmarks, events and personalities.
84 BCE: Sulla mints new silver and gold coins to pay his army.
46 BCE: Julius Caesar mints the largest quantity of gold coins ever seen in Rome.
23 BCE: The brass orichalcum sestertius is first minted in Rome.
16 BCE: The Roman mint at Lugdunum is established.
64 CE: Nero reduces the weight and percentage of precious metal in Roman coins, a trend continued by several subsequent Roman emperors.
293 CE: Diocletian reforms the Roman coinage system, guaranteeing the gold aurei at 60 to a pound and minting the nummus coin.
301 CE: Diocletian reasseses the values of Roman coins and limits minting rights to between 12 and 15 mints across the empire.
400 BCE 300 BCE 200 BCE 100 BCE 0 CE 100 CE 200 CE