Visual Timeline: Pyongyang

To navigate the timeline, click and drag it with your mouse, or click on the timeline overview on the bottom.

2500 BCE 2000 BCE 1500 BCE 1000 BCE 500 BCE 0 CE 500 CE 1000 CE  
2333 BCE: Traditional founding of Gojoseon by Dangun Wanggeom (Tangun).
300 BCE: Gojoseon is attacked by the Yan state.
194 BCE - 180 BCE: Wiman Joseon (Wiman Choson) takes control of Gojoseon, declaring himself king.
108 BCE: Wiman Joseon is conquered by the Han dynasty.
37 BCE - 668 CE: The Goguryeo kingdom rules in northern Korea.
37 BCE: Traditional founding date of the Goguryeo Kindom in northern Korea.
371 CE: Baekje conquers the Mahan federation and attacks Pyongyang, killing the Goguryeo king Gogugwon.
427 CE: Pyongyang replaces Gungnae as the Goguryeo capital.
612 CE: Goguryeo general Eulji Mundeok wins a great victory against the Chinese Sui at the battle of the Salsu River.
661 CE: A Tang Dynasty army unsuccessfully besieges the Goguryeo capital of Pyongyang.
667 CE: A Tang Dynasty army besieges the Goguryeo capital of Pyongyang for a second time, this time successfully.
668 CE: The Goguryeo kingdom of northern Korea collapses following an attack by the Tang Dynasty of China.
918 CE - 1392 CE: The Goryeo Dynasty rules in Korea.
1135 CE: A rebellion led by the monk Myocheong is quashed in Goryeo.
1231 CE - 1232 CE: Ogedei Khan leads a Mongol invasion into Korea.
2500 BCE 2000 BCE 1500 BCE 1000 BCE 500 BCE 0 CE 500 CE 1000 CE