Visual Timeline: Ottoman Empire

To navigate the timeline, click and drag it with your mouse, or click on the timeline overview on the bottom.

1200 CE 1300 CE 1400 CE 1500 CE 1600 CE 1700 CE 1800 CE 1900 CE  
1299 CE - 1326 CE: Reign of Osman I.
1326 CE: Prusa (Bursa) falls to Ottoman control shortly after Osman's death; it becomes the capital of the Ottoman Empire.
1326 CE - 1362 CE: Reign of Orhan, as the second sovereign of the Ottoman Empire.
1361 CE: Adrianople (Edirne) falls to Prince Murad, the son of Orhan, later Murad I.
1362 CE - 1389 CE: Murad I rules as the sovereign of the Ottoman Empire and brands himself as a sultan.
1389 CE: Murad I defeats a European coalition army led by the Serbians at the Battle of Kosovo but dies at the climax of battle.
1389 CE - 1402 CE: Bayezid I rules as the Sultan of the Ottoman Empire.
1396 CE: The Battle of Nicopolis, aka the Nicopolis Crusade, where a western Christian army is defeated by the Ottoman Turks.
1402 CE: Bayezid I is defeated by the forces of Timur at the Battle of Ankara and is captured.
1402 CE - 1413 CE: Ottoman Interregnum; Mehmed I emerges victorious.
1421 CE - 1451 CE: Reign of Murad II.
1444 CE: Murad II resumes defeats Crusader forces at the Battle of Varna.
1451 CE - 1481 CE: Mehmed II rules as the Sultan.
1453 CE: Ottoman Sultan Mehmed II sacks Constantinople.
1475 CE - 1783 CE: Crimean Tatars serve as vassals to the Ottomans.
1481 CE - 1512 CE: Reign of Bayezid II.
1512 CE: Selim I deposes his father Bayezid II.
1512 CE - 1520 CE: Reign of Selim I; the Ottoman Empire doubles in size.
1514 CE: Battle of Chaldiron; Selim I defeats the army of the Safavid Shah Ismail I.
1516 CE - 1517 CE: Selim I conquers the Mamluk Sultanate, taking Syria, Palestine, Hejaz and Egypt. Ottoman Sultanate declares itself as a Caliphate.
1520 CE - 1566 CE: Reign of Suleiman the Magnificent.
1521 CE: Belgrade falls to the Ottomans.
1523 CE: Suleiman conquers Rhodes.
1526 CE: Battle of Mohacs; Suleiman I defeats the Hungarian field army under Louis II.
1529 CE: Ottomans fail to take Vienna.
1566 CE: Suleiman I dies while campaigning in Hungary.
1566 CE - 1574 CE: Reign of Selim II.
1570 CE: Ottomans conquer Cyprus.
1571 CE: Battle of Lepanto; the Ottoman navy is defeated by the Holy League.
1596 CE - 1609 CE: Celali revolts throughout Anatolia.
1669 CE: Crete falls to the Ottoman Sultanate.
1683 CE: Ottomans fail to take Vienna for the second time.
1699 CE: Treaty of Karlowitz.
1789 CE - 1807 CE: Reign of Selim III.
1826 CE: Conservative Jannisary corps are disbanded.
1839 CE - 1876 CE: Tanzimat reforms are introduced.
1876 CE - 1878 CE: First Constitutional Era of the Ottoman Empire.
1876 CE - 1909 CE: Reign of Abdul Hamid II.
1908 CE - 1920 CE: Second Constitutional Era of the Ottoman Empire.
1909 CE: Abdul Hamid II is deposed by the Young Turks party.
1914 CE - 1923 CE: Armenian population of Anatolia is subjected to genocide.
1918 CE: The Ottoman Empire is defeated in World War I.
1922 CE - 1924 CE: Abdulmejid II serves the office of the Caliphate only, as a symbolic figure.
1923 CE: The Republic of Turkey declares independence under Mustafa Kemal.
1924 CE: Mustafa Kemal abolishes the institute of Caliphate.
1200 CE 1300 CE 1400 CE 1500 CE 1600 CE 1700 CE 1800 CE