Visual Timeline: Meroe

To navigate the timeline, click and drag it with your mouse, or click on the timeline overview on the bottom.

900 BCE 800 BCE 700 BCE 600 BCE 500 BCE 400 BCE 300 BCE 200 BCE 100 BCE 0 CE 100 CE 200 CE 300 CE  
890 BCE: First tomb built at Meroe.
750 BCE: Kushite City of Meroe is founded.
590 BCE: Meroe becomes capital of Kingdom of Kush after the fall of Napata. .
295 BCE - 275 BCE: Reign of King Ergamenes (Arakakamani) in Meroe.
285 BCE: King Ergamenes slaughters the priests of Amun at Napata, breaks with Egypt.
284 BCE - 314 CE: Queens (Candaces) rule jointly with Kings in Meroe.
275 BCE: Ptolemy II invades the Meroitic Nubian kingdom and annexes Lower Nubia.
205 BCE - 185 BCE: Upper Egypt and Lower Nubia secede from the Ptolemaic Kingdom with the support of Meroe. Two Egyptians, Horwennefer and his successor Ankhwennefer are declared as Pharaoh in the now independent territories.
22 BCE: Peace Treaty favoring Meroe signed with Rome.
330 CE: Invasion of Meroe by the Aksumites under King Ezana.
350 CE: End of the Kingdom of Kush and city of Meroe in Nubia.
900 BCE 700 BCE 500 BCE 300 BCE 100 BCE 100 CE