Visual Timeline: Magadha Kingdom

To navigate the timeline, click and drag it with your mouse, or click on the timeline overview on the bottom.

600 BCE 500 BCE 400 BCE 300 BCE 200 BCE 100 BCE 0 CE 100 CE 200 CE 300 CE 400 CE 500 CE  
544 BCE - 492 BCE: Bimbisara rules the Magadha kingdom in India.
543 BCE - 492 BCE: King Bimbisara begins Magadha kingdom's conquests by annexing the kingdom of Anga in eastern India.
492 BCE - 460 BCE: Ajatashatru rules the Magadha Kingdom in India.
414 BCE - 396 BCE: The Magadha king Shishunaga annexes the kingdom of Avanti, ending the dynastic rule of the Pradyotas.
413 BCE - 345 BCE: The Shishunaga Dynasty rules the Magadha Kingdom.
413 BCE - 345 BCE: The Shishunaga Dynasty rules the Magadha Kingdom.
400 BCE: First Buddhist Council at Rajgir, Bihar, India; teachings and monastic discipline agreed to and codified.
346 BCE - 324 BCE: Magadha's king Mahapadma Nanda makes massive conquests in north and eastern India including Kosala.
326 BCE: Alexander the Great halts his eastward march and turns back from the banks of the river Beas, Punjab, India.
321 BCE: Dhana Nanda, king of Magadha, is killed by Chandragupta Maurya.
133 BCE - 123 BCE: Magadha king Vasumitra defeats the Indo-Greeks at the banks of the Indus.
335 CE - 380 CE: Regarded as the "Indian Napoleon", the Gupta emperor Samudragupta, ruling from Magadha, subdues kings in nearly all corners of India and annexes kingdoms adjacent to Magadha.
510 CE - 540 CE: The Huns are defeated by King Baladitya of Magadha and later by King Yashodharman of Malwa.
600 BCE 400 BCE 200 BCE 0 CE 200 CE 400 CE