Visual Timeline: Hellenistic Warfare

To navigate the timeline, click and drag it with your mouse, or click on the timeline overview on the bottom.

340 BCE 330 BCE 320 BCE 310 BCE 300 BCE 290 BCE 280 BCE 270 BCE 260 BCE 250 BCE 240 BCE 230 BCE 220 BCE 210 BCE 200 BCE  
334 BCE: Sardis surrenders to Alexander the Great.
323 BCE - 282 BCE: Rule of Ptolemy I Soter.
323 BCE: Death of Alexander the Great.
322 BCE - 275 BCE: The Wars of the Diadochi, also known as the Wars of Alexander's Successors.
322 BCE: Demetrius I flees Phrygia with his father Antigonus I.
321 BCE - 315 BCE: Seleucos rules the satrapy of Babylon.
319 BCE: Death of Antipater, regent of Macedon.
317 BCE: Demetrius I commands his father's cavalry units at the battles of Paraetacene and Gabiene in Persia.
316 BCE: Satrap of Persis Peucestas is defeated at the Gabiene Battle, alongside of Eumenes. Evagros is appointed in Persis by Antigonus I Monopthalmus.
316 BCE: Thessalonica is founded by Cassander.
314 BCE: Antigonus I establishes the League of Islanders which includes Delos.
312 BCE: Seleucos conquers Babylon and founds the Seleucid dynasty.
312 BCE: Evagros is killed in battle by Seleucos I. Persis comes under Seleucid rule.
312 BCE: Demetrius I of Macedon loses the Battle of Giza against Ptolemy I and Seleucus I Nicator.
309 BCE - 308 BCE: Agathocles of Syracuse successfuly campaigns in North Africa defeating Carthaginian armies and taking Utica and Hippacra.
309 BCE: Lysimachus founds the city of Lysimachia to secure the Dardanelles.
306 BCE: Demetrius I of Macedon defeats Ptolemy's fleet at Salamis, off the coast of Cyprus.
305 BCE: Emperor Chandragupta signs a treaty with Seleucos I, establishing borders and giving the Punjab to Chandragupta in return for 500 war elephants.
305 BCE - 297 BCE: Cassander is self-proclaimed king of Macedon.
301 BCE: The Battle of Ipsus in central Phrygia where Lysimachus and Seleucos I defeat Antigonus I and Demetrius I of Macedon.
295 BCE: Seleucos I makes an alliance with local Persis dynast, Ardaxsir, becoming the first frataraka of Persis.
295 BCE: Demetrius I campaigns in central Greece, removes the tyrant Lachares from Athens and defeats Sparta.
294 BCE - 288 BCE: Demetrius I rules as king of Macedon.
292 BCE: Lysimachus is captured by Dromichaites, the king of Getae and forced to surrender Trans-Danubian territories.
288 BCE: Pyrrhus of Epirus becomes ruler of Macedon.
288 BCE: When his army deserts him Demetrius I flees Macedon.
285 BCE: Demetrius I surrenders to Seleucus I and lives as a prsioner for three years until his death.
284 BCE: Lysimachus drives Pyrrhus out of Macedon.
281 BCE: Lysimachus is defeated by Seleucus I Nicator at Corupedium.
280 BCE - 275 BCE: King Pyrrhus of Epirus wages the Pyrrhic War against the Romans in Italy, defence of Tarentum being the pretext.
273 BCE: Pyrrhus of Epirus attacks Macedon and Sparta.
272 BCE: Death of Pyrrhus of Epirus in a street battle in Argos.
241 BCE - 197 BCE: Reign of Attalus I at Pergamon.
222 BCE: The Achaean League and Antigonos III of Macedon defeat Sparta at Sellasia.
340 BCE 320 BCE 300 BCE 280 BCE 260 BCE 240 BCE 220 BCE