Visual Timeline: Greek Religion

To navigate the timeline, click and drag it with your mouse, or click on the timeline overview on the bottom.

1500 BCE 1400 BCE 1300 BCE 1200 BCE 1100 BCE 1000 BCE 900 BCE 800 BCE 700 BCE 600 BCE 500 BCE 400 BCE 300 BCE 200 BCE 100 BCE 0 CE 100 CE 200 CE 300 CE 400 CE  
1500 BCE: First temple to Demeter & Persephone is built at Eleusis.
800 BCE: The site of Delphi first acquires a religious significance.
800 BCE: The oracle of Zeus is established at Dodona.
776 BCE: First athletic games in honour of Zeus are held at Olympia with one event, the stadion foot race.
700 BCE: Greek poet Hesiod writes his Theogony and Works and Days.
700 BCE: The site of Sounion first acquires a religious significance.
700 BCE - 379 CE: The Letoon sanctuary dedicated to Leto is active at Xanthos in Lycia.
700 BCE: The temple of Apollo is built on the island of Delos.
700 BCE - 600 BCE: Temples are built in honour of Apollo, Demeter and Dionysos on the island of Naxos.
650 BCE - 600 BCE: Heraion, temple dedicated to Hera built at Olympia.
650 BCE: The first temple in honour of Apollo is built at Delphi.
600 BCE - 550 BCE: The Dionysia becomes a major Athenian festival in honour of Dionysos.
600 BCE: The Eleusinian Mysteries become part of the official Athenian religious calendar.
573 BCE: First athletic games at Nemea in honour of Zeus.
550 BCE: The temple of Apollo is constructed at Corinth.
540 BCE: Athens removes and prohibits further burials on Delos to purify the sacred island.
510 BCE: The second temple to Apollo is constructed at Delphi, replacing the first temple destroyed by fire.
500 BCE: Asclepius becomes principal god of worship at Epidaurus.
480 BCE: Persians destroy the sanctuary at Sounion.
460 BCE - 457 BCE: Temple of Zeus is built at Olympia with a statue of Apollo dominating the west pediment and containing the cult statue of Zeus by Phidias.
460 BCE: The bronze Poseidon or Zeus statue (of Cape Artemesium) is sculpted.
449 BCE: The Hephaisteion, temple to Athena & Hephaistos, built in Athens.
447 BCE - 432 BCE: The construction of the Parthenon in Athens by the architects Iktinos and Kallikrates under the direction of Phidias.
444 BCE - 440 BCE: Temple of Poseidon at Sounion re-built.
438 BCE: The cult statue of Athena Parthenos is dedicated in the Parthenon of Athens.
430 BCE - 420 BCE: Sanctuary of Aphrodite constructed at Argos.
430 BCE: The cult statue of Zeus by Phidias is dedicated in the Temple of Zeus, Olympia. It is one of the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World.
425 BCE - 420 BCE: The Temple dedicated to Athena Nike is constructed on the acropolis of Athens.
421 BCE - 406 BCE: The Erechtheion of Athens acropolis is constructed with six Caryatids in the south porch.
380 BCE - 375 BCE: Temple to Asclepius constructed at Epidaurus.
330 BCE: Temple of Zeus built at Nemea.
330 BCE: The third temple to Apollo is constructed at Delphi, replacing the earlier temple damaged by earthquake.
320 BCE: Temple dedicated to Aphrodite constructed at Epidaurus.
292 BCE - 280 BCE: The Colossus of Rhodes, a representation of Helios, is built in Rhodes town harbour, one of the Seven Wonders of the Ancient World.
379 CE: Theodosius I orders the closure of all Greek pagan sites.
393 CE: Roman Emperor Theodosius definitively ends all pagan Games in Greece.
426 CE: Emperor Theodosios II orders the destruction of Olympia.
1500 BCE 1300 BCE 1100 BCE 900 BCE 700 BCE 500 BCE 300 BCE 100 BCE 100 CE 300 CE