Visual Timeline: Carthago Nova

To navigate the timeline, click and drag it with your mouse, or click on the timeline overview on the bottom.

300 BCE 200 BCE 100 BCE 0 CE 100 CE 200 CE 300 CE 400 CE 500 CE 600 CE 700 CE 800 CE 900 CE 1000 CE 1100 CE 1200 CE  
228 BCE: Carthago Nova founded by Carthaginian general and politician Hasdrubal the Fair.
209 BCE: Carthago Nova taken by Scipio Africanus.
209 BCE: Scipio Africanus captures the Carthaginian base and treasury Carthago Nova in southern Spain.
44 BCE: Julius Caesar makes Carthago Nova a colonia.
27 BCE - 14 CE: Emperor Augustus revitalizes Carthago Nova, lavishing funds on the city for streets and building projects.
298 CE: Emperor Diocletian makes Carthago Nova capital of the province of Hispania Carthaginensis.
409 CE: Vandals take Carthago Nova.
425 CE: Visigoths take Carthago Nova from the Vandals.
435 CE: Vandals sack Carthago Nova.
550 CE: Emperor Justinian makes Carthago Nova capital of Spania.
714 CE: Carthago Nova taken during the Muslim Invasion of the 8th century CE.
1243 CE: Carthago Nova taken by Fernando III of Castille in the Reconquista of Spain. .
300 BCE 100 BCE 100 CE 300 CE 500 CE 700 CE 900 CE 1100 CE